Scientific Director

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Markus Arndt

Term of office: 01.10.2022 - 30.09.2024

The Scientific Director heads the VDSP and its steering committee, represents the VDSP to the faculty, the rectorate and the world at large and serves as the deputy to the DSPL in Physics. The Scientific Director is an active researcher, teacher and VDSP supervisor.


Email: markus.arndt@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-51210

Website: www.quantumnano.at


Director of the doctoral study programme

Univ.-Prof. Mag. Dr. Thomas Pichler

Term of office: 01.10.2022 - 30.09.2024

The Director of the doctoral study programme (DSPL) is responsible for the legal admission and completion of the PhD studies in Physics and serves as the deputy to the Scientific Director. The Director of the doctoral study programme is an active researcher, teacher and VDSP supervisor.


Email: thomas.pichler@univie.ac.at

Phone: +43-1-4277-51466

Website: epm.univie.ac.at




Managing Director

Mag. Dr. Christiane Maria Losert-Valiente Kroon

The managing director is in charge of career development of the VDSP students, communication within and outside the VDSP, planning and implementation of activities and events and is available as a first contact person in case of exceptional situations. The managing director holds a PhD degree in Physics.


Email: christiane.losert@univie.ac.at

Mobile: +43-664-8175834



Managing Officer

Mag. Julia Just

The managing officer is in charge of recruitment, general administration and coordination of the VDSP, budget monitoring and event management.

Email: julia.just@univie.ac.at

Mobile: +43-664-8176560

Steering Committee

The Steering Committee develops future strategies, decides on the use of the VDSP budget and contributes to the resolution of potential conflict within the VDSP.

The following members of the VDSP Steering Committee have full voting power:

In addition, the VDSP student speaker has voting powers except in student and fellowship selection and other cases where personal information of students, supervisors and mentors are involved.

Furthermore, the Dean of the Faculty of Physics (Univ.-Prof. Dipl.-Ing. Dr. Robin Golser) and one VDSP representative per topical doctoral college affiliated with the Faculty of Physics at the University of Vienna (Univ.-Prof. Dr. Markus Aspelmeyer and Univ.-Prof. Dr. André H. Hoang) provide important input to the VDSP in practical and strategic decisions.

Currently, the regular members of the Steering Committee are

Term of office: 01.10.2022 - 30.09.2024

Selection Committee

Student speakers

The VDSP student speaker and deputy student speaker represent the VDSP students in the steering committee, serve as contact for VDSP students and for the VDSP management in questions concerning student input for VDSP events, activities and strategies. The student speakers are elected at the annual VDSP student assembly to which all VDSP students are invited.

Term of office: 01.10.2022 - 30.09.2023

Student Speaker

Lena Maria Hansen, B.Sc.

The VDSP student speaker is undertaking her PhD project in the group Quantum Information Science and Quantum computation.


Deputy Student Speaker

Dott. Luigi Ranalli

The VDSP deputy student speaker is a PhD student in the group Computational Materials Physics.

International Advisory Board

The following renowned experts in doctoral education and training have agreed to offer their advice as members of the International Advisory Board: